

Phone: 714.640.5100 | **Fax:** 714.640.5139



REGULAR MEMBERS

CHAIR

Donald P. Wagner County Member

VICE CHAIR
Wendy Bucknum
City Member

IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR **Douglass Davert**Special District Member

James Fisler Special District Member

Derek J. McGregor Public Member

Bruce Whitaker City Member

VACANTCounty Member

ALTERNATES

Kathryn Freshley Special District Member

Carol Moore City Member

Lou Penrose Public Member

VACANTCounty Member

STAFF

Carolyn Emery Executive Officer

Scott Smith
General Counsel

July 10, 2024

9d Commission
Discussion

TO: Local Agency Formation Commission

of Orange County

FROM: Executive Officer

SUBJECT: Alternate Appointment for the Southern Region

Local Agency Formation Commissions

BACKGROUND

The Southern Region Local Agency Formation Commissions (formerly the Coalition of California Local Agency Formation Commissions) was formed in 2011 by Imperial, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino and San Diego LAFCOs. The group was established to primarily focus on the legislative positions of interest, educational opportunities, creating a forum for CALAFCO Board of Directors candidates, and joint review of CALAFCO programs and activities for the region. The regional group meets quarterly, and this effort has led to many joint partnerships and activities.

Quarterly meetings and other activities of the group are governed through rules and procedures outlined in the adopted by-laws. The document guides the rules of order, schedule of meetings, and selection of officers and primary and alternate voting members. At the next quarterly meeting on August 28, the southern region LAFCOs will review the by-laws and consider minor updates to improve procedures, including the schedule and format (in-person or virtual) for election of officers and quarterly meetings and meeting quorum. Currently, the by-laws provide for each LAFCO to designate a Commissioner and an alternate to vote in matters taken up by the southern region group. The by-laws also provide that the alternate may be a staff member or other Commissioner who shall vote in the absence of the regular Commissioner.

OC LAFCO Commissioner Derek J. McGregor currently represents the Commission at the southern region meetings and was most recently elected to serve as Chair of the southern group. To ensure that there is continuity of participation with the group and there is consistently a quorum of the group, staff is recommending the Commission appoint the Executive Officer to serve as OC LAFCO's alternate voting member.

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Staff recommends the Commission:

1. Appoint the OC LAFCO Executive Officer as the alternate member for activities of the southern region LAFCOs.

Respectfully submitted,

CAROLYN EMERY