

Public Member

City Member

James Fisler

City Member

VACANT

County Member

ALTERNATES

Katrina Foley County Member

Carol Moore City Member

Lou Penrose **Public Member**

Carolyn Emery Executive Officer

Scott Smith

General Counsel

STAFF

Kathryn Freshley Special District Member

Wendy Bucknum

Special District Member

Bruce Whitaker

REGULAR MEMBERS	MEETING DATE:	December 13, 2023	8b Commission Discussion
CHAIR Douglass Davert Special District Member	то:	Local Agency Formation Commission of Orange County	
VICE CHAIR Donald P. Wagner County Member	FROM:	Executive Officer Commission Clerk	
IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR Derek J. McGregor	SUBJECT:	Appointment of 2024 OC LAFCO Office	rs

BACKGROUND

In accordance with the OC LAFCO Bylaws, the Chair and Vice Chair shall be appointed annually by the Commission majority, and newly appointed officers shall take office immediately. In addition to other duties outlined in the Bylaws, the Chair shall preside at all meetings of the Commission and conduct the business of the Commission pursuant to and in compliance with the Commission procedures. The Chair shall preserve order and decorum at all meetings and shall decide all questions of order and procedure, subject to the action of the majority of the Commission. In the event of the Chair's absence, or inability to act as the Chair, the Vice Chair shall have all the powers and duties of the Chair.

For reference, a list of the current and prior year OC LAFCO officers are shown below.

OC LAFCO Officers Recent Appointments				
Year	Chair	Vice Chair	Immediate Past Chair	
Current	<i>Douglass Davert</i>	<i>Donald Wagner</i>	<i>Derek J. McGregor</i>	
	(Special District Member)	(County Member)	(Public Member)	
2022	<i>Douglass Davert</i>	<i>Donald Wagner</i>	<i>Derek J. McGregor</i>	
	(Special District Member)	(County Member)	(Public Member)	
2021	<i>Douglass Davert</i>	<i>Donald Wagner</i>	<i>Derek J. McGregor</i>	
	(Special District Member)	(County Member)	(Public Member)	

Additionally, the Bylaws indicate that the Executive Committee of the Commission shall be comprised of the current Chair, Vice Chair and Immediate Past Chair. The Executive Committee serves in an advisory role to the full Commission on the agency budgets, strategic and work plans, Public Member selection process and other personnel matters, as warranted.

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Staff recommends the Commission:

1. Appoint a Chair and Vice Chair for 2024.

Respectfully Submitted,

CAROLYN EMERY

Cheryl Carter Benjamin CHERYL CARTER-BENJAMIN